Accords nouveaux

François-Pierre Goy & Andreas Schlegel

In 1701, an extraordinary opus was published in Vienna by Wenzel Ludwig Edler von Radolt, in five partbooks. Each partbook focuses on a particular musical trick which is presented as a movement:

[Book 1, entitled at the end of the prologue in part 1: 1. The First Lute:]
The most faithful || discrete and capable companion || for both merry and sorry moods || as fit / || Joining other precise instruments ||to respond to the most delicate || emotions || first lutes.

[Book 2, entitled at the end of the prologue in part 1: 2. The Lutes for playing the middle voice:]
The most faithful || discrete and capable companion || for both merry and sorry moods || as fit/ || joining the most delicate || emotions. || Second and Third Lutes.
 

[Book 3, entitled at the end of the prologue in part 1: 3. The First Violins or Flutes]
[Text on the Book is unknown as a cover sheet is found yet; it is probably the same as the text on part 1.] 

[Book 4, entitled at the end of the prologue in part 1: 4. The middle voices of Violins or Viola Di Gamba]
The most faithful || discrete and capable companion || for both merry and sorry moods || as fit/ || Playfully assisting Their || Moods. || Second and Third Violins/ || or || Viola Di Gamba.

[Book 5, entitled at the end of the prologue in part 1: 5. The Bass]
The most Faithful || Discrete and capable Companion || for both merry and sorry moods || as fit/ || Real Basement and || Foundation. || The Bass. 

Current list of items

The places where the five known partbook are kept, in the order mentioned in partbook 1:
1. The First Lutes (A-Wgm,
SK-BRnm, D-Mbs*, GB-Lbl, B-LVu)
2. The Lutes, leading the middle voice (Lutes 2 & 3; in Concerto 1, showing Lute 2 on the verso and Lute 3 on the recto.) (A-Wn*,
CZ-R)
3. The First Violins or Flutes (
SK-BRnm and a not yet retrieved second item, a microfilm of which has been saved)
4. The Middle Voices in Violins or Viola Di Gamba (in Concerto 1, showing Violin 2 on the verso and Viola Di Gamba on the recto) (A-Wn*, CZ-Bm,
CZ-R)
5. The Bass (A-Wn*,
SK-BRnm)

The items marked with an asterisk * are available in digitised* form (see below). Items belonging to the collection in Raigern, where it is believed to have been complete before World War I, are marked in underline and bold. Adolf Koczirz borrowed three partbooks of Raigern (1, 3, and 5) for his edition in 1918 Österreichische Lautenmusik zwischen 1650 and 1720 (= Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich, Bd. 50), Vienna : Artaria 1918, and states that partbook 4 is missing in Raigern. Neither said three partbooks nor further borrowed manuscripts from Raigern were returned after use: The documents were later transferred by Dobroslav Orel to Bratislava as a set. There, it was passed between various institutions. Legally, the documents still belong to the Benedictine monastery in Raigern.
We are currently following traces of other partbooks.

Book 1. Lute, located in Munich, is available for download: 
https://daten.digitale-sammlungen.de/~db/0012/bsb00123272/images/

Books located in the National Library of Austria (Book 2: Lute 2&3; Book 4: Vla & VdG; Book 5: Basso), available for download: 
http://data.onb.ac.at/rec/AC09204129

Book Violin 1 of Raigern was obviously photographed in the thirties, the takes of pages 18 and 19 are spoiled. The photos have been found in the library of Joseph Klima, including a manual reproduction of the damaged takes, and, additionally, a modern re-production of pages 18 and 19. The only sample of Book Violin 1 comes without a title sheet.

In 2010, Hubert Hoffmann published with Tree in Lübeck an Edition containing, besides Facsimile reproductions of the Concerts and the settings??? for violins, also an extremely useful collection of all hard to read texts in modern writing (in German). 

Contents

The collection includes 12 Concerti in highly varying settings. Only the first Concerto requires four stringed instruments (or three lutes in various dimensions, see below). The remaining Concerti are intended for trio disposition, although in various setting. The first violin or flute (the text also mentions an oboe) and the bass are constant. Concerto 3 features a ciphered bass. Book 4 requires either one of the following: 2nd violin, viola or viola da gamba. The first concerto shows on the verso the first violin, on the recto the viola.
The three lutes of the first concerto tune the Chanterelle in f', es' and c', respectively, thus indicating their being of different size.
Lute 1, having the Chanterelle in f', is the only instrument used througout all Concerti. Lute 2 has the Chanterelle at f' for the Concerti 6, 8, 9 and 11. Lute 3 is used in Concerto 1 only.

The compositions can also be played as solo Lute or as trio Sonatas without any lutes. When playing solo, important notes played otherwise by second or third instruments are added to the first voice in red ink. Curiously, judging by the shape of the characters, this helpful notation has been added by somebody else. The normal print is in black.

The link to a PDF containing an overview, the disposition and the contents of the partbooks in great detail.

The link to a PDF with the current understanding about the partbooks, for comparison.

The compositions show outstanding originality and deep reasoning. Remarks on how to play, and the intention of the songs, are to be found at varioius places:
- the last page of the prologue in the book of the first Lute,
- as a comment to the pieces in the corresponding book,
- in the index on the last page of the book of the first Lute .

Please consider three extraordinary compositions which we will discuss in what follows:

Concerto Nr. 1:
Three lutes, differing in their size, are required: Lute 1 tunes the Chanterelle nominally to f', lute 2 to es', lute 3 to c'. Referring to the Vienna tuning tone a' = appr. 470 Hz and a rupture limit around 250 Hz*m, upper limits for the mensures of these lutes are resulting in, respectively, about 63 / 71 / 84 cm (i.e. (24“ / 28“ / 33“) (or shorter). Radolt reads in the index, in his words, precisely: Imo: Concert a Quatro except D with 3a: minor, with three different lutes, a small, a larger and a large lute, each one having its own tuning, but a common bass line, and there are three violins and a bass, all tuned to match the small lute.

The last page of the prologue in the book to the 1. Lute: Whilst D la Sol re Primi Thoni, taken as a basis for this first lute concert, it is also the start for this complete work. This concert is played with three different lutes. The first one, leading with the soprano voice, must be a very small lute, and has to be tuned at least half a tone above Comet. The second lute must be somewhat larger, say medium size, and has to be tuned one full tone lower, such that its sixth choir equals the seventh choir of the small lute. V: G: The third shall be a rather large, ordinary lute, has to be tuned two tones and a half lower, such that its sixth choir equals the ninth choir of the small lute. V: G: This concert is made a Quatro, with a violin matching each lute, and due to the high tuning, it would be favourable to use half violins and a small bass, the violins and the bass are tuned after the small lute. This concert requires that the Soprano, this is, the small lutes, are preponderant, if there are two second and third lutes, there must be three first lutes, if there is one second and one third lute, there must be two first lutes, there is also a particularly good effect when playing, after each part went in Pleno, just the three high lutes in unison, the remaining instruments staying silent, or, to play just the first lute, or the two first lutes, or only violins or oboes without lutes, or with lutes but without violins. 

The setting is so variable. In order to play the Concerto with just one instrument, notes belonging to another instrument are printed in red at times when the lute has a pause. Notes printed in red colour mean the second voice and are not played in concert. (Remark on the Overture.)

Concerto Nr. 6:
This Concerto is described in the index as: 6to: Based on C with 3:a major, having an Aria and a Bass, this is all it takes for a complete concert, in two lines! One of the lutes and violins repeatedly plays the Aria, and the other instruments play seven pieces, one after the other.
This means: The Aria is played as high voice together with the matching bass. The second voice joins in, playing, in this order, an Allemande, Courente, Sarabande, Gavotte, Bourée, Menuette und Guigue. There appear daring rhythmical combinations, as the Aria is in 4/4, but the Courante, for instance, is in 3/4, of which 2 measures are made to fit in one 4/4-measure of the Aria.

After the Aria in Book 1 of the lute: The present Aria is the basis for the complete composition and is played over and over again, but good measure whilst playing is required, especially for the triplets. The bass line fits equally well with all pieces, everything is regular with the contrapunct, such that, if some part is off tact, the Aria shall pause until the next measure. It would be to good effect to play the concert with two kinds of instruments, such as V:G two or three flutes or an oboe, to play the Aria, and the violins or lutes to play the pieces.
Should it be played with equal instruments, just imagine how pleasant it would sound when the piece, after the first part has been played as usual, to have the repetition played without the other instuments, but just one lute for the aria and another lute for the piece.

The Aria is repeated depending of the piece.
Allemande no repetition
Courente first repetition only, omitting the other
Sarabande only the second repetition

Gavotte
Bouree
Menuette
Guigue
all these have two repetitions

In Lute 1 Allemande: The Allemande needs to be played somewhat faster due to the Aria.

Concerto Nr. 9:
In a way, the voices are swapped:
The Violino 1mo plays an Allemande for piece 1, whilst the Violino 2do steps in with a Gigue, (thus producing rhythmical oppositions, as the Allemande partitions the measure in 4 quarters, but the Gigue in 12 eigths. The swap is in piece 5 (the title is rotated: Gigue è Allemande). Piece 2 (Courente è Menuette) corresponds to Piece 6 (Menuette è Courente) for the swap. Piece 3 (Sarabande è Aria) and piece 7 have the same relation, as do piece 4 (Gavotte è Bourée) and piece 8.

This Concerto is described in the index as: 9no: A Concert off G with 3:a major, where two pieces are played simultaneously at all times. G. Allemande and Guigue, Courent: Menuett etc: you may play each piece separately, as you wish.

In Lute 1 with Allemande and Gigue: For all pieces in this collection, if they start off-beat, the second voice will be silent until the beat.

Stand 31.7.2020

Accords nouveaux

François-Pierre Goy & Andreas Schlegel

Wenzel Ludwig Edler von Radolt veröffentlichte 1701 in Wien ein aussergewöhnliches Werk in fünf Stimmbüchern:

Die Aller Treüeste Verschwignests und nach so wohl Frölichen als Traurigen Humor sich richtente Freindin,

[Stimmbuch 1:] Vergesellschafft sich mit anderen getreüen Fasalen Unserer Inersten Gemiets Regungen. [Am Ende der Vorrede in Stimmheft 1:] 1. Die Erste Lautten
[Stimmbuch 2:] Zu Ihren Affecten mit helffente Gesbillinen. Anderte und Drite Lauten. [Am Ende der Vorrede in Stimmheft 1:] 2. die Lautten, so die Mitelstimm führet
[Stimmbuch 3:] [Text auf dem Stimmbuch unbekannt, weil bisher kein Titelblatt bekannt.] [Am Ende der Vorrede in Stimmheft 1:] 3. die Erste Geigen oder Flautten
[Stimmbuch 4:] Zu Ihren Affecten mit helffente Gesbillinen. Anderte und Drite Geigen oder Viola Di Gamba [Am Ende der Vorrede in Stimmheft 1:] 4. Die Mittel Stimmen in der Geigen oder Gamba
[Stimmbuch 5:] Wahre Grund Vestung und Fundament. Der Baß [Am Ende der Vorrede in Stimmheft 1:] 5. der Baß

Somit beschreibt der Titel und die Angaben auf den Stimmbüchern auch die Funktion der jeweiligen Stimmen:
Die Aller Treüeste Verschwignests und nach so wohl Frölichen als Traurigen Humor sich richtente Freindin, vergesellschafft sich mit anderen getreüen Fasalen Unserer Inersten Gemiets Regungen.
Zu Ihren Affecten mit helffente Gesbillinen.
Wahre Grund Vestung und Fundament.

Zu den erhaltenen Exemplaren

Die bekannten Aufbewahrungsorte der fünf Stimmbücher, hier zitiert nach der Aufzählung im Stimmbuch 1:
1. Die Erste Lautten (A-Wgm, SK-BRnm, D-Mbs*, GB-Lbl, B-LVu)
2. die Lautten, so die Mittel-Stimm führet (Lauten 2 & 3; im Concerto 1 ist die Laute 2 auf der verso-Seite, die Laute 3 auf der rechto-Seite abgedruckt) (A-Wn*, CZ-R)
3. die Erste Geigen oder Flautten (SK-BRnm und ein bisher nicht lokalisiertes zweites Exemplar, von dem ein Mikrofilm existiert)
4. Die Mittel Stimmen in der Geigen oder Gamba (im Concerto 1 ist die Violine 2 auf der verso-Seite, die Viola auf der rechto-Seite abgedruckt) (A-Wn*, CZ-Bm, CZ-R)
5. der Baß (A-Wn*, SK-BRnm)

Die mit Stern* bezeichneten Exemplare sind als Digitalisat* abrufbar (siehe unten). Unterstrichen und fett dargestellt ist die Stimmbuchsammlung, die bis vor dem 1. Weltkrieg wohl komplett in Raigern vorhanden war. Adolf Koczirz lieh sich für seine Edition von 1918 Österreichische Lautenmusik zwischen 1650 und 1720 (= Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich, Bd. 50), Wien : Artaria 1918, drei der Stimmbücher aus Raigern aus (1, 3, 5) und sagt, das das 4. Stimmbuch in Raigern fehle. Die drei ausgeliehenen Stimmbücher gelangten nicht mehr nach Raigern zurück und befinden sich heute in Bratislava.
Im Moment gehen wir Spuren zu weiteren Stimmbüchern nach.

Das Stimmbuch der 1. Laute kann in München heruntergeladen werden: 
https://daten.digitale-sammlungen.de/~db/0012/bsb00123272/images/

Die Stimmbücher, die in der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek aufbewahrt werden (Stimmheft 2: Laute 2&3; Stimmheft 4: Vla & VdG; Stimmheft 5: Basso), können dort heruntergeladen werden: 
http://data.onb.ac.at/rec/AC09204129

Das Stimmbuch der Violine 1 aus Raigern wurde offenbar in den 1930er-Jahren fotografiert. Diese Fotografien befanden sich samt einer Reinschrift der Fehldruck-Seiten 18 und 19 in der Bibliothek von Josef Klima. Spannend ist, dass S. 19 (und möglicherweise auch S. 18, die in meinem Digitalisat der Klima-Unterlagen nicht enthalten ist) ein Fehldruck ist, bei dem zwei Druckvorgänge zu beobachten sind, wodurch die Musik nur äusserst schwer zu entziffern ist. In den Unterlagen sind denn auch moderne Umschriften dieser beiden Seiten 18 und 19 zu finden.

2010 hat Hubert Hoffmann 2010 bei Tree in Lübeck eine Edition herausgegeben, die neben dem nach Concerti geordneten Faksimile und dem Streicher-Stimmensatz in Partitur auch eine äusserst nützliche Umschrift aller in schwer lesbarer Schrift verfassten Vorworte und Anweisungen enthält. 

Zum Inhalt

Die Sammlung enthält 12 Concerti in unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen. Lediglich das erste Concerto setzt vier Streicher (bzw. 3 Lauten in unterschiedlicher Grösse, s.u.) vor. Alle anderen Concerti sind in Triofassung angelegt – in unterschiedlicher Besetzung: Die erste Violine oder Flöte (oder im Text auch Oboe) und der Bass sind konstant, wobei Concerto 3 als einziges einen bezifferten Bass aufweist. Das Stimmheft 4 verlangt entweder 2. Violine, Viola oder Viola da Gamba. Für das erste Concerto ist auf der verso-Seite die 1. Violine, auf der recto-Seite die Viola notiert.
Die drei Lauten des ersten Concerto haben die Chanterelle in f', es' und c' und sind somit unterschiedlich gross.
Nur Laute 1 (das kleinste Instrument mit der Chanterelle in f') wird in allen Concerti verwendet. In Concerti 6, 8, 9, 11 wird die zweite Laute ebenfalls in f' vorausgesetzt. Die dritte Laute wird nur im ersten Concerto eingesetzt.

Grundsätzlich sind alle Kompositionen so gestaltet, dass sie auch alleine als Lauten-Solostücke oder als Triosonaten ohne Lauten aufgeführt werden können. Damit die erste Laute bei einer solistischen Aufführung durchgehend spielen kann, sind diejenigen Stellen, die in der Aufführung mit mehreren Instrumenten von der 2. oder 3. Stimme gespielt werden, rot in die Stimme der 1. Laute eingetragen. Merkwürdigerweise wurden diese roten Eindrucke von einer anderen Person gestochen als der Rest: Die Schriftform unterscheidet sich deutlich von der umgebenden schwarz gedruckten Tabulatur.

Hier ist ein PDF zu finden, in dem ein Überblick, die Besetzungen und der Inhalt der Stimmbücher im Detail angegeben werden.

Und hier ist ein PDF zu finden, das den jetzigen Wissensstand um die erhaltenen Stimmbücher zusammenfasst.

Die Kompositionen zeichnen sich durch Originalität und betont denkerische Ansätze aus. Es finden sich an verschiedenen Orten Hinweise auf die Ausführungen und die Konstruktion der Stücke:
- auf der letzten Seite der Vorreden im Stimmbuch der 1. Laute,
- bei den Stücken als Anmerkungen im jeweiligen Stimmbuch,
- im Index auf der letzten Seite des Stimmbuchs für die 1. Laute.

Hier sei speziell auf drei aussergewöhnliche Kompositionen hingewiesen:

Concerto Nr. 1:
Hier werden drei Lauten in verschiedenen Grössen verwendet: Laute 1 hat die Chanterelle nominell auf f', Laute 2 auf es', Laute 3 auf c'. Dies führt bei einem Wiener Stimmton von a' = ca. 470 Hz und einer Reissgrenze bei 250 Hz*m zu Mensuren von maximal ca. 63 / 71 / 84 cm (kleiner ist möglich). Radolt schreibt ausdrücklich im Index: Imo: Concert a Quatro auß den D mit der 3a: minor, mit dreyen unterschiedlichen Lautten, kleine, grössere, undgroße Lautten, es führet ein iede seine besondere Stirn, doch alle zusamben ein Baß, und wird ein iede anders gestimmet, es gehören 3 Geigen und ein Bass darzue, welche alle nach der Kleinlautten gestimet werden.

Auf der letzten Seite der Vorreden im Stimmbuch der 1. Laute: Weillen D la Sol re Primi Thoni, aus welche dises erste Lauttenconcert gemacht, ist es auch zu einem Anfang dieses ganzen Werckhs hieher gesezet worden. Dises Concert wird mit dreien unterschiedlichen Lautten gespillet. Die erste, so den Sopran fuhret, muß ein sehr kleine Lautten sein, und wird wenigsten urnb einen halben Thon höher alß Comet gestimmet. Die anderte muß schon was größeres und also ein mittere Lautten sein, wird umb einen ganzen Thon niederer gestimmet, wird also dieser Lautten sexter Chor nach der Klein Sibenden Chor gleich gestimmet V: G: Die dritte, so ein recht große ordinari Lautten sein mueß, wird umb zwey ganze, und einen halben Thon niederer gestimmet, wird also dieser Lautten sexter Chor nach der klein Lautten neunten Chor gleich gestimmet. V:G: Dises Concert ist a Quatro gemacht, gehet also zu einer ieglichen Lautten sein Geigen Stimm, und wäre wegen der hohen Stimmung guett, wann man Halb Geigerl nehmete, und ein kleines Bassel, die Geigen und Baß werden alle nach der klein Lautten gestimmet. Bey disem Concert muß allezeit der Sopran, daß ist die Klein Lautten stärckher besezt sein, wann also die anderte und dritte Lautten doppelt, die erste wenigstens dreyfach, so aber die Andert, und dritte Lautten einfach, die erste doppelt muess besezt sein, es macht auch einen besonderen guetten Effect, wann man einenieglichen theill, nachdeme er in völligen Pleno gegangen, mit dreyeinigen Lautten nach machet, mit Stillschweigung aller anderen Stimmen, und obwohlen es a Quatro ist, so kan man doch zu seiner Zeitvertreibung die erste Lautten allein spillen, oder auch mit zwey Lautten, es könnte auch wohl mit Geigen, oder Hubois [hautbois = Oboe] ohne Lautten, oder auch mit Lautten ohne Geigen gemacht werden. 

Die Besetzung ist also sehr variabel und damit man dieses Concerto auch nur mit einer Laute spielen kann, sind die anderen Stimmen, die in einer Pause der ersten Laute erklingen, in Rot gedruckt: Daß Rotte bedeutet die andere Stimm und wird in Concert nicht angeschlagen. (Anmerkung bei der Ouverture)

Concerto Nr. 6:
Dieses Concerto wird im Index beschrieben mit: 6to: Auß den C mit der 3:a major, alwo uber eine Aria: und ein Baß, So in zwey Zeillen bestehet, ein ganzes Concert gemacht worden. Von denen Lautten und Geigen macht einer allezeit die Aria, und die andere, Siben Stuckh nach ein ander.
Dies bedeutet: Die Aria wird immer als eine Oberstimme mit dem dazu passenden Bass gespielt. Dazu spielt die zweite Stimme nacheinander eine weitere Stimme als Allemande, Courente, Sarabande, Gavotte, Bourée, Menuette und Guigue. Dabei entstehen natürlich gewagte rhythmische Kombinationen, weil die Aria im 4/4-Takt steht, die Courante aber als Beispiel in einem 3/4-Takt, bei dem 2 Takte in einen 4/4-Takt der Aria eingepasst werden.

Nach der Aria im Stimmbuch der Laute 1: Über gegenwertiger Aria ist dise volgende ganze Parthi gemacht worden, und wird mit einem ieglichen Stuckh gespillet, doch gutter Discretion im Spiel ist zu gebrauchen, absonderlich in den Triplen. Es gehet auch dißer Aria Bass mit allen Stuckhen, ist auch alles Regular und nach den Contrapunct auf daß genaueste beobachtet worden, wenn in einem Stuckh was außer deß Tacts ist, so pausieret die Aria, biß zum Anfang des ersten Tacts. Es wurde guetten Effect machen wenn es mit zweyerley Instrumenten machte im Concert, alß V:G: zwey oder drey Flautten oder ein hautbois, so die Aria allein machen, die Geigen aber und Lautten die anderen Stuckh nach ein ander.
So es aber mit gleich Instrumenten gemacht, wurde es sehr angenemb komben, und besser auß zunehmen Sein, daß nach deme ein theill von einem Stuckh gespillet, daß anderte mahl mit Stillschweigung aller anderen Instrumenten Selbiger theill von zwajien Lautten nachgeschlagen wurde, So einer die Aria, der ander aber daß Stuckh Schlagete.

Die Repetitionen sind auch unterschiedlich in der Aria.
Allemande keine Repetition
In der Courente die erste Repetition, die andere aber nicht
Sarabande die andere Repetition allein

Gavotte
Bouree
Menuette
Guigue
dieße alle haben zwey Repetitionen

In Laute 1 Allemande: Die Allemande muß wegen der Aria etwas geschwinder geschlagen werden.

Concerto Nr. 9:
Hier findet eine Art Stimmtausch statt:
Die Violino 1mo spielt als Stück 1 eine Allemande, dazu die Violino 2do eine Gugue (mit entsprechenden rhythmischen Gegensätzlichkeiten, weil die Allemande den Takt in 4 Viertel unterteilt, die Gigue in 12 Achtel. In Stück 5 erfolgt der Stimmentausch (im Titel gedreht: Guigue è Allemande). Stück 2 (Courente è Menuette) entspricht Stück 6 im Stimmtausch (Menuette è Courebte), Stück 3 (Sarabande è Aria) Stück 7 und Stück 4 (Gavotte è Bourée) Stück 8.

Dieses Concerto wird im Index beschrieben mit: 9no: Ein Concert auß dem G mit 3: a major, allwo allzeit zweyerley Stuckh miteinander gespillet werden. G. Allemande und Guigue, Courent: Menuett etc: man kan doch iedes allein schlagen, nach belieben.

In Laute 1 bei Allemande und Guigue: Alle die Stuckh in dießer Parthi, so außer des Tacts anfangen, pausieret die andere Stimm biß zu anfang deß Tacts.